The Hero's Journey in 17 Stages

The Hero’s Journey in 17 Stages

The concept of the hero’s journey in 17 stages, also known as the monomyth, is a narrative pattern identified by Joseph Campbell, a renowned American mythologist. Campbell believed that this universal pattern serves as a spiritual blueprint for the adventures that heroes undertake in myths, legends, and even in our own lives. Influenced by the works of psychologists such as Sigmund Freud and Carl Jung, Campbell highlighted the importance of making the unconscious conscious and embracing the transformative power of storytelling.

When used wisely, the hero’s journey can aid you in re-contextualizing your life in an empowering way, providing a framework for personal growth and self-realization.

Stage 1: Call to Adventure

The journey begins with a call to adventure, a beckoning towards a greater purpose or destiny. This call may come in various forms – a challenge, an opportunity, or an unexpected event that propels the hero on a path of self-discovery.

Stage 2: Refusal of the Call

Faced with the unknown, the hero may hesitate, plagued by fears and insecurities that hinder their progress. The refusal of the call represents a crucial moment of internal conflict, where the hero must confront their doubts and find the courage to embrace the journey ahead.

Stage 3: Supernatural Aid

In their time of need, the hero encounters mentors, teachers, or magical beings who provide guidance and support. These supernatural aids offer wisdom and assistance, helping the hero navigate the challenges that lie ahead.

Stage 4: Crossing the Threshold

Crossing over into the unexplained realm, the hero enters the special world where ordinary rules no longer apply. This symbolic act marks a significant transition, signifying the hero’s readiness to face the unknown and embark on a transformative journey.

Stage 5: Belly of the Whale

Confronted with their deepest fears and innermost struggles, the hero finds themselves in the belly of the whale – a metaphor for stepping out of their comfort zone and confronting their vulnerabilities. This stage represents a profound moment of personal transformation and growth.

Stage 6: Road of Trials

The hero faces a series of tests, tasks, and ordeals that challenge their resilience and fortitude. Through these trials, the hero learns valuable lessons, overcomes obstacles, and discovers their inner strength, ultimately breaking through personal limitations.

Stage 7: Meeting with the Goddess

Encountering the divine feminine in the form of a goddess or a nurturing figure, the hero gains new perspectives and insights that shape their journey. This meeting symbolizes the integration of feminine qualities such as unconditional love, intuition, compassion, and emotional depth into the hero’s psyche.

Stage 8: Temptations

Amidst the trials and tribulations, the hero is tempted to stray from their path, lured by distractions and temptations that threaten to derail their quest. The hero must resist these temptations and stay true to their purpose to achieve their ultimate goal.

Stage 9: Atonement with the Father

In a moment of reconciliation and personal change, the hero confronts their own inner demons and makes peace with the masculine aspects of their psyche. This stage represents a profound shift in the hero’s consciousness, leading to inner harmony and self-acceptance.

Stage 10: Apotheosis

Attaining a greater perspective and understanding of their journey, the hero undergoes a process of apotheosis – a transformation that turns their wounds into weapons. Through this symbolic death and rebirth, the hero emerges stronger, wiser, and more resilient than before.

Stage 11: The Ultimate Boon

Having overcome numerous obstacles and challenges, the hero achieves the ultimate boon – the realization of their quest and the fulfillment of their deepest desires. This moment of triumph signifies the hero’s growth, evolution, and transformation.

Stage 12: Refusal of the Return

Despite achieving their goals, the hero may be reluctant to return to the ordinary world, preferring to remain in the comfort of their newfound success. However, true growth requires embracing change and facing the discomfort of returning to the familiar.

Stage 13: Magical Flight

Taking a leap of faith, the hero embarks on a journey of self-discovery and personal transformation, guided by intuition and inner wisdom. This stage represents a bold act of courage and faith in one’s abilities to navigate the challenges of change.

Stage 14: Rescued from Without

Repeatedly facing similar challenges and lessons, the hero realizes the importance of growth and change. This stage signifies a moment of reflection and realization, leading to a deeper understanding of the hero’s journey and their personal evolution.

Stage 15: Crossing the Return Threshold

Acknowledging the profound changes that have occurred, the hero returns to the ordinary world, integrating the lessons learned and embracing their newfound self. This stage marks a pivotal moment of transformation, as the hero reconnects with their true essence and identity.

Stage 16: Master of Two Worlds

Emerging as a survivor and a master of their own destiny, the hero embodies an expanded version of themselves – a synthesis of humanity and divinity. This stage represents the hero’s evolution into a more enlightened, empowered being, capable of navigating the complexities of life with grace and wisdom.

Stage 17: Freedom to Live

In a final act of death and rebirth, the hero embraces the constant nature of change and transformation. This stage symbolizes the hero’s liberation from old patterns and limitations, granting them the freedom to live authentically and embrace new beginnings with courage and resilience.

As you reflect on the hero’s journey in 17 stages, consider how this powerful narrative structure can be applied to your own life. Embrace the call to adventure, confront your fears and insecurities, seek guidance from mentors and teachers, and embark on a transformative journey of self-discovery. Remember, change is constant, and by embracing the hero within, you can unlock your true potential and embark on a path of personal growth and empowerment.

Love this content?
Share it with your friends.


Related Articles

Introducing SES Pulse™

Subscribe To Pulse™
The Official Newsletter
By Subtle Energy

1 thought on “The Hero’s Journey in 17 Stages”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Shopping Cart